Pinned Image

“Though our feelings come and go, God’s love for us does not. – C. S. Lewis.

My feelings have gone. I do not hear His voice; I cannot feel Him near. I cannot tell if He is happy with me, or sad with me. I don’t know.
I think this is wear a Christian proves his faith, this is where the rubber meets the road. How do I know He is even real in such times? This is when it is the  most important time to be thankful, otherwise it’s easy to get down.

Have you ever been through such a time?

This is the time, when I must hold my head high, remember what I have in Christ- and take His promises for myself. I cannot feel His strength within me, but I will declare that I have it. I do not see Him protecting me, but I will tell the world that He is- that He is even with me.

My packages of joy at the moment are declaring Gods promises. That He is with me, though I don’t feel it.

Thank You, Lord, that you are forever with me.
Thank You for Your everlasting love, whether I falter on the narrow way or not.
Thank You for bright mornings, and fresh breezes.
Thank You for truth.

Here is a awesome quote I found in the book Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World  by Joanna Weaver that has really encouraged me:

A Test of Love

St. Augustine once preached a sermon in which he proposed a king of self-test to see if we truly love God:

Suppose God proposed you a deal and said, “I will give you anything you want. You can possess the whole world. Nothing will be impossible for you… Nothing will be a sin, nothing forbidden. You will never die, never have pain, never have anything you do not want and always have anything you do want- except for just one thing: you will never see my face.”

Augustine closed with a question:

Did a chill rise in your hearts, when you heard the words, “you will never see me face”? That chill is the most precious thing in you; that is the pure love of God.

Stop and think what you would have if you had everything you want. I thought along the lines of: Well, my family would never die or pass away, we would always live together, we wouldn’t go to work, the future would be certain, there would be no quarrelling, I would be able to hang with friends who honestly loved me, have enough money for anything I wanted…

The knowing that a little kernel of love is slowly growing within me for God, ooh, I am happy. I cant feel Him, I cant see Him- but I love Him!

Bring on the world, I’ll fight them with a hand behind my back. :D

-          Meggie

