Tags

, , , ,

There are no clear indications in the bible where Jesus went in the three days that He left the earth. I always thought that He went to hell in place of us so we didnt have to go there, but after reading from Omnibus 2 and reading an article, with some bible verses I am not so sure. No where does it actually say in the bible that Jesus went to hell! It does say however in the Apostles Creed, that He descended into Hell. In Ephesians 4:8-10 it says: 

 Therefore He says:

      “ When He ascended on high,
      He led captivity captive,
      And gave gifts to men.”

 9 (Now this, “He ascended”—what does it mean but that He also first descended into the lower parts of the earth? 10 He who descended is also the One who ascended far above all the heavens, that He might fill all things.)

Jesus might have gone to Hell and rescued those who were sent there that believed in him but did not go to heaven because they were not sinless, but with Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice, they were forgiven! In Revelation 1:18 seems to back this by saying:

I am the Living One; I was dead, and behold I am alive for ever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and Hades. 

Where did He get the keys to death and Hades?

 But then again, when He was dying on the cross, and when the sinner on another cross beside Him asked Jesus to remeber him, Jesus replied:

 “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” (Luke 23:43).

So, it appears that we have no real idea what Jesus was doing, He would have told us if it would have benefitted us – and (you never know) He might explain to us in heaven, when we are face to face with Him!

– Written by Meggie.  A essay for  Omnibus II, Church Fathers through the Reformation. Where did Jesus go after He died on the cross? Helped me understand and write these ideas, but ultimatly I trust God for whatever He did in those three days. Please read this article if you dont fully understand the subject!

