Are you truly with love?

 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

(True)  Love is patient, (true) love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. (True) Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

(True) Love never fails…. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Love is not what the world would make us believe us think. The Bible clearly states what really is the real ‘true love.’ And I have to challenge you, are you willing to re-think the worlds view of relationships by following Gods Will for your love life?  Can we really find some hope of finding that right man, when the dating system is full of disrepair and pain?  We all have heard of someone who has had there lives crumpled when they thought they had found ‘him’ and ‘he’ has broken their hearts and dumped them. Why is that? Why are there so many stories of heart-break in a place that should be full of love?

This is the worlds view of finding ‘him’. Our thoughts of dating are all centered around lust. Even ‘Christian Dating/Courting’ is mostly filled with the worlds expectations. How many people have you gossiped with about ‘who looks hottest?’ This is not true love. Can you sacrifice a bit to expierence the wonderfulness of true love from God?

  • Love is patient: Can I wait for the man of my dreams, can I keep my heart for him, and all the treasures that come with being a wife?
  • Love is kind: Can I consider the men in my life as ‘brothers in Christ’ and respect my brothers and not be a stumbling point to them, in their own search for purity and true love?
  • (Love) always perseveres: Can I follow God even when I feel I can go no more because He hasn’t yet shown me my husband?  Can I persevere when I have found him, to really make sure he is the one?
  • Love never fails: When I marry, can I stick to my husbands love, and never fail him?

Give it a go, have a read through 1 Corinthians 13, read it slowly and picture yourself with true love. Read the love story of the Bible… Ruth. Trust God to show you, He is the Creator, shouldn’t He know how to deal with a certain creation (love) He has made?

Just a thought: This type of love is not only for romance, but for ALL our relationships. How are you demonstrating persevernce with your mother? What about being kind to your siblings, or remaining faithful to your friend?

~ Meggie

