I always wondered what exactly modesty was, and it really surprised me and help see how I should dress, AND act.  The book called Beautiful Girlhood by Mabel Hale has helped me with this walk in life alot. Here are my findings on what modesty really is:
In the American Dictionary of the English Language, Noah Webster confines the meanings of modest and modestly.

Modest: properly restrained by a sense of propriety; hence not forward or bold; not presumptuous or arrogant; not boastful.

 Modestly: Not loosely or wantonly (without restraint); decently; as to be modestly attired, to behave modestly.

 From these definitions we can clearly see that modesty is….

 1. An act of the heart: humbling yourself and attaching to the Lord with His ways and laws no matter what the cost, big or little, to be intent on developing your character to honour God.
2. In your behaviour: Taking your character and improving it by putting it into practice around your family, friends, in every day life.
3. Restraining yourself correctly: By putting up barriers for matters such as movies, clothes, behaviour, friends, activities ext.

My family and I are moving, so you might not hear from me for awhile, prayers would be wonderful! Thankyou.

~ Meggie

