blogger

““You said I was no archer,” said Robin Hood,
“But say so now again.”
With that he sent another arrow
That split his head in twain. ~ From Robin Hood’s Progress to Nottingham.

“How charming is this quote? I found it in Omnibus II, Church Fathers through the Reformation. It does a study on Robin Hood (which I havent actually done yet, I just happened to be flicking through when this quote jumped out at me!) I like it because of the blood in the last line and the ringing of herioc-ness. One word to some this up would have to be ‘Novel’. I hope to write something wonderful like that one day.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life” (John 3:16). What does it mean to believe in Christ? It means more than accepting and affirming the truth of who He is –God in human flesh- and believing what He says. Real faith has at its heart a willingness to obey. There is no way to eliminate that truth from this passage. Jesus does not allow for “faith” that gives lip service to the truth and then goes ahead in sin.  Look at verses 20-21: “Everyone who does evil hates the light, and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who practices the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.”

Verse 36 goes even further, equating disobedience with unbelief: “He who believes in the Son has eternal life; but he who does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him.” Thus the test of true faith is this: Does it produce obedience? If not, it is not saving faith. Disobedience is unbelief. Real faith obeys. ~ The Gospel According to Jesus by John MacArthur.

“Think about this for a moment. Our culuture screams at the moment, just believe in God, and pray a prayer and you will go to Heaven. Is this all that true? I am reading The Gospel According to Jesus at the moment, and it has really jumped out at me that just believing is not enough…we must obey, its a brand new thought that I am digesting at the moment. Is your faith, true faith? Is it ‘saving faith’? Are you obeying God, just like a slave that is owned by its Master and humbly obeys? These thougts are so new and strange that I immediatly thought, no, this cannot be right. But if you compare its message with the Bibles views, ideas seem to form and meet.
Maybe it is true?

~ Meggie
Thanyou everyone for your prayers, moving went really well. It all was quite easy and we are definatly having a great time now that we have moved in with my Nan and Pop. I cannot use much internet at the moment, so my visits to my blog will be few. Until next time!

