Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us; that we should be called children of God!… 1 John 3:1a

Usually when I think of God (and who He is) I remember His power and might in miracles and works. I marvel of His creating the universe, and being so full of wisdom. But as I read through scripture a realization took place, the massive God, the Creator of the world wants to be our Father.
As a Father, He feeds us, cares for us, shelters us and teaches us.  Imagine your dad for a moment, and then think about the perfect, huge, Dad who knows everything about you. God as the Father is a Friend day-to-day, always by our sides ready to share our sorrow, happiness- our very lives.
As I started to realize the extent of this, this simple fact, my world started to change. I grew up in a Christian family, but I never knew God intimately as a Father.  We all know God is trinity, Father, Son and Holy Spirit; but when have you actually chatted with this Father, as the Friend He is? God is not just confined to early morning devotions, church, or your group- but when you eat breakfast, read a book, talk with your siblings, clean and tidy- all through the mundane stuff of everyday.

I will be a Father to you,
And you shall be My sons and daughters,
Says the Almighty LORD. ~ 1 Corinthians 6:18

As you go about your day, visualize God as Father and Friend, by your side, ready to help with anything or even just for a chat. Download onto Him. Tell Him what’s going on and what you’re feeling.

Therefore David blessed the LORD before all the assembly, and David said:
“Blessed are you, LORD God of Israel, our Father, forever and ever…” ~ 1 Chronicles 29:10

For more about including God in your life, have a look at Chapter 23 of Beautiful Girlhood (by Mabel Hale) here.

~ Meggie

