Translated by Dorothy L. Sayers.

Written in medieval times by a troubadour (a writer of songs and poetry) and acted countless of times by travelling jongleurs at bright feasts and celebrations. The Song of Roland defiantly holds some history.

The Song of Roland is based on a fictitious nephew of King Charlemagne, Roland, and his friends as they fight against the Muslims in a crusade. Roland’s step-father betrays Roland to the Muslims when he and his men are marching behind Charlemagne’s great army. I have to warn you, however, that Roland does die, but it is defiantly a novel poem. When I first picked up the book, I have to say I wasn’t to excited on reading it. But the poetry is quite smooth (though in old English) and it rhymes with the most fascinating ways. The only part I found boring was the lead up to the battle.

I would recommend The Song of Roland for 13 years old and up. (There is a bit of blood and guts.) It would probably make a fun read- aloud.

~ Meggie.

