“Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock:” ~ Matthew 7:24”

Where are the foundations of your life resting? Are you ‘on the rock’? I was reading this verse this morning, and it sort of hit me that I haven’t been using these years of preparation to their complete potential. Yes, I have been learning how to sew, knit, and cook and how to keep a house, I have learnt a little, but have I been building my house on the Rock?
Just as we are preparing ourselves for future life, I believe we need to prepare our faith for the storms and rains. That is strengthening our faith with the strongest foundation- Jesus Christ.
You can easily nod your head in agreement, and utter a faint ‘Amen’, but how do we take it the further mile and actually act upon it? How many will come away from this post and not think of this again?
The above verse says, that whoever hears Gods Word, ‘and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock.’ So it is the old, apply Gods Word to your life. I always have had really struggled with being a ‘doer of the Word’. It’s easy enough to read the Bible every morning, but actually taking it into practice and into the rest of the day… I have mostly always failed.

“But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.” ~ James 1:25

How can we do this? Well, what would you do? If digging into the Word and building a strong foundation means studying the Word instead of just lazily reading it, memorizing verses, and deciding what you will work on each day (think fruit of the Spirit, Galatians 5:22-23), will you?
Please join me, sisters. Get serious about building your life onto the unchanging Rock, be determined with me, and raise your swords in this battle. “Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong.” ~ 1 Corinthians 16:13. Please share how you will go about building your life on the Rock and what it means to you. Through discussion we can help each other to understand and learn how to put this into practice.

~ Meggie

