An article for the fainthearted. 

Are you deathly afraid of nothing that is really scary at all? Satan can make us fear even silly little things, like the dark of night and being alone. I am what the bible calls, fainthearted.
All year before my baptism God was sticking his finger at me, asking me to get baptised. I screamed, I kicked, but God just held me tighter. Soon, I gulped and at the verge of tears I asked my parents about it and the date was set. Leading up to the baptism, I was attacked with fits where I would lock myself in my room and just cry, for no apparent reason at all (that I could see). I would talk to God through tears and plead with Him, asking what was going on. I worked out later that I was in a desperate state of fear, I was afraid that I would muck up my testimony – that things would go wrong… that I would be embarrassed infront of the whole church. I worked out later when I found this verse that I should have gone to the bible to rid it. (O, ye little of faith!)

“Do not fear, for you will not be ashamed;
Neither be disgraced, for you will not be put to shame;
For you will forget the shame of your youth, and will not remember the disgrace of your widowhood anymore.”
– Isaiah 54:4 NKJV

How should I have attacked my fear? Praying to God was helping with it, but I missed out of the importance of scripture AND prayer combined. Looking in a concordance and finding verses to look up and ponder over and pray about the fear strengthens you spiritually and mentally, like a sword it parries away Satan’s never dying lust for evil.

For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand,
Saying to you, ‘fear not, I will help you.”
~ Isaiah 41:13 NKJV

 Remember, God is always there, even if He sometimes seems like a fantasy.
Are you battling with fear? Try looking up fear in a concordance, and try some of these verses: Psalm 34:4; 7, Psalm 46:2, Luke 12:32, 2 Timothy 1:7, 1 John 4:18.
Next time you are confronted with fear, fight back knowing the mighty Creator is with you, breaking through the barrier you’ll find yourself free, awaiting the next time when you can silently stab fear through the heart before it even sniffs you. If you are confronted with big fear – remember that God will not tempt you above that ye are able! (1 Corinthians 10:13). With God, all things are possible!

Written by Meggie.

