I have been thinking about the purpose of my writing, scribbling, jottings, scrawlings… whatever you want to call my hair-brained inklings. The thought that my writing could become something great, something inspiring, something that could further Christs gospel and give Him glory- well, it’s utterly amazing. But as I started to think of what I wanted my writing to do, I started thinking about the purpose that it serves. As a Christian, everything I do is for Christ- He is my Lord and Saviour, the writer of everyone’s stories.

And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the LORD and not to men, knowing that from the LORD you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the LORD Christ. – Colossians 3:23-24

 
When I think about what purpose my writing should serve, I start thinking about scenes in Elen, daughter of Faust I wondered what God wanted me to do with this novel, with all the novels I ever write, every jot and ink stain from my pen. I went to His Word, and here is what I found.

I have been given a gift of storytelling…

As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. – 1 Peter 4:10

For the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. – Romans 11:29

 
I tell as my LORD before me told…

And with many such parables He spoke the Word to them as they were able to hear it. But without a parable He did not speak to them. And when they were alone, He explained all things to His disciples. – Mark 4:33-34

 
I have been called to spread His name…

Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. Amen. – Matthew 28:19-20

Whatever I tell you in the dark, speak in the light; and what you hear in the ear, preach on the housetops. – Matthew 10:27

Then the LORD answered me and said:
“Write the vision
And make it plain on tablets,
That he may run who reads it.” – Habakkuk 2:2

And the exciting things are the promises…

For it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you. – Matthew 10:20

Do you see a man who excels in his work? He will stand before kings; He will not stand before unknown men. – Proverbs 22:29

Through words the LORD made a covenant with Moses:

Then the LORD said to Moses, “Write these words, for according to the tenor of these words I have made a covenant with you and with Israel.” – Exodus 34:27

I know my calling, the LORD has made it clear to me on more than one occasion, and I have always been filled with a love of weaving stories since I was ten. But the only way my stories will ever amount to anything is if I submit it to my LORD, and write for Him. That is why I write, all for Gods glory. May He use me as He will.

~ Meggie

Why do you write? What stories have influenced you to live out your life for God? Do you have any bible verses that inspire you to write, or reveal why you write?

