“There is so much in the world for us all if we only have the eyes to see it…”
– Anne of the Island, XXXVII

A beautiful flower dangling down right in your pathway, a package of books your order that come three weeks earlier than you expected, your dad unexpectedly comes home from work with the news that he won’t be working the next two nights through anymore, because a miracle happened and they managed to do the job done in one afternoon!

 Let me say this, God is amazing.

 As soon as I actually started looking out for these tiny blessings, I felt like I was hit with a tidal wave. I’ve been asking God for awhile now to make His love real to me. And He had been all that time, I had just been too stressed, caught in the moment, or discontent to see it.

 Eating lunch with a friend. Trying to do a decent days work. Hearing the rain patter against the window. There is no event so commonplace but that God is present within, always hiddenly, always leaving room to recognize Him or not to recognize Him. – Frederick Buechner.

 I think that is how I have learned to look. By getting some perspective and stepping back and looking at my one, solitary, today against the whole of eternity. Suddenly, things come a lot clearer. It doesn’t matter if I don’t come through NaNoWriMo victorious, it doesn’t matter if I don’t get that pile of shirts ironed, it doesn’t matter if I don’t have time to blog.
Then my eyes were opened. I could walk through the day and see these packages of joy that God plants in my life every week.

 A few nights ago I felt desolate, with a very strong tidal wave of loneliness. Today, God dropped into my lap an article of a girl my age, literally shouting in my ear, it’s the scheme of Satan to make you think there are not other girls out there that don’t hold your ideals, your passion for Christ, you want to please Him. It is a lie. You are not alone. (http://jenniferandkathryn.blogspot.com/2011/11/am-i-crazy.html) My goodness, those words sure hit home.

 Then, yesterday, I was reminded again to look for those packages when I read the recent post on, ‘The Journey’. Please, go check it out, it’s a true story of Katie, a young missionary over in Uganda, Africa, looked for the packages of joy in her own desolation.
It’s the post on January 1, 2011: http://www.kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com/ 

 Praise God! Now, I want to all challenge you something, girls. I want everyone who reads this post to blog about their take on packages of joy, and  how God blessed them today, to remind us and strengthen us in being joyful and praising God. (If you do please sign the linky below, or comment with the link to your post so I can read it too!)

 Who is with me?

~ Meggie

 Many, O Lord my God, are Your wonderful works which You have done;
And Your thoughts towards us cannot be recounted to You in order;
If I should declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered. – Psalm 40:5



